A Slice of Delhi – Golden Shower in Summer

The capital city of New Delhi  is in the midst of a hot summer and the Amaltas, a rather nondescript  scant of foliage  tree with scraggly brown branches has  suddenly transformed into a spectacular ornament of  sunburst yellow.  

Also known as the Laburnum ( Cassia fistula ),  it is one of the most beautiful of all tropical trees.  Come summer and the tree bursts  into a mass of long, grape like bunches of sheer yellow gold hanging overhead like natures blessing itself.  

Golden Shower

Just like it’s summer predecessor – the fiery crimson blooms of the Gulmohar, it’s beauty defies description. Though the blooms last just about a fortnight long before the green leaves take over, the golden showers make the beating heat a little more bearable with their astonishing beauty. 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “A Slice of Delhi – Golden Shower in Summer

  1. Such stunning pics, Shivani! I would love to see one up close! Thank you so much for sharing this beauty! 🙂

  2. So beautiful, and your images have sparked a very early memory. In our Cheshire garden (UK) we had an old laburnum tree, and my mother used to park me in my pram under it all through the summer and autumn, so in June this is what I saw. Then someone told mother that the pods were poisonous, so she stopped parking me there. Not sure what she thought, that I might open my mouth like a baby bird and swallow the escaping seeds.

    1. Thank you for visiting here Tish. It makes me happy that you recollected fond memories from your childhood through my images. I have also read about the Laburnum being poisonous. I suppose someone warned your mother rightly 🙂

Leave a Reply

